Sign in with
Your question

Corei-7 920 lagging very bad

Last response: in CPUs
March 11, 2012 12:41:26 PM

Hello, I'm very new in tom's hardware but I've visited this website sometimes but only now did i register.

This is my PC setup

Processor : Corei-7 920
RAM : 10GB Kingston (2x 4GB RAM, 1x 2GB RAM)
Motherboard : intel DX58S0 Crossfire
Video Card : Sapphire HD5770 Vapor X
PSU : Thermal Take Lite
HDD : Seagate 320GB

My PC boots very slow, after entering the desktop I lag for about 5mins before I can click anything

When I copy files(My internal HDD to an external HDD) that is more than 4gb my PC starts to lag so much that I need to cancel it if I'm doing anything else.

Also when I copy, the rate of data transfer from my internal HDD to an external is around 70-100mb per sec after reaching halfway(For example the total size of the file i'm copying is 5gb) the copy rate goes down to 1mb per sec. the whole computer freezes and I can barely run other applications.

It's frustrating because my friends and cousins' PCs which are Dual Cores, Core2Duo, Corei3 runs faster than mine. This problem started back in December, gradually getting slower and slower.

I think its either my MOBO, my HDD or my OS, but i'm not sure. What do you guys think?

More about : corei 920 lagging bad

a b à CPUs
March 11, 2012 1:01:04 PM

First two things is a slow hard drive can sometimes put out a quick burst of read/writes but never sustained and your ram configuration likely has a little to do with the problem as well.
a b à CPUs
March 11, 2012 1:13:52 PM

The problem is not the processor, the bottleneck(s) reside elsewhere.