Your question

This is my very first build

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
December 8, 2011 7:02:49 AM

I have never built a computer before. This will be my very first build. I tried my best to get parts compatible with each other with no bottlenecking. Please overlook my build and tell me if there are any errors. Thank you very much!

cpu: core i5 2500k

mobo: asrock z68 extreme3 gen3

gpu: evga gtx 560 ti

hdd: seagate barracuda 7200 500gb

ram: g.skill x series 1600 cas9 4x4gb

psu: corsair enthusiasts series 650w plus certified

drive: lite-on 18x dvd-rom

case: cooler master storm scout

Since i5 2500k supports dual channel memory, would I be better off going with 2x4gb? Would that bring higher performance than the 4x4gb, which nullifies the dual channel support? Keep in mind that I do not need 16gbs of ram, I just bought them because they were on sale cheap. I will use 2x4gb or 4x4gb depending on which provides better performance.

Is this motherboard good enough for me? I read alot of reviews about it and people were really praising it for its abundance in features & specs and its bang for the buck. Is this a solid piece of mobo? Would it pair well with the i5 2500k even though its only half the price of the cpu?

More about : build

December 8, 2011 7:17:58 AM

Dual channel memory would be better (2x4GB)

Besides that your motherboard and everything else is good, if possible I would return the PSU and up it to a 750W so you can have future SLI capabilities with the 560 Ti
m
l
December 8, 2011 7:47:39 AM

you are mostly looking good.
I am sure people will disagree with me cause everyone has their faves but here goes.

Asrock for your mobo may indeed do you a good job as they have come forward in quality as of late, I have heard alot about memory issues in some of them . However you will probably fare better with an Asus like one of these which offer the same features and known quality