Graphics Card for Video Editing

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am in the process of building a computer for video editing (Adobe CS 5.5 Production Premium). I will be editing HD video as well as creating motion graphics.

What I have so far:

CPU: Intel i7-2600K

Mobo: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe

RAM: 16 GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR 1600 (PC 12800)

PSU: Mushkin Enhanced 1000W

Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Enhanced

I have a pretty good idea of what I am going to do as far as HDD's and a blu-ray burner. I need help selecting a graphics card. The Quadro series is out of my price range. I am considering either the MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme Edition GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi) 3072MB or PNY XLR8 VCGGTX580XPB-LC GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi) 1536MB. Which would best suit what I need without being overkill? I am open to suggestions.

Solution
Yes, the 570 is designed for high speeds in gaming while the quadro takes more time for detailed images, or something like that, i'm no expert.

Got this from the forum ;

The pro (Quadro, FireGL) drivers allow for more control over certain settings in CAD apps, and are geared to accelerate OpenGL pro apps instead of games. The last time I read a review with a gaming card vs. it's pro counterpart playing a game, the pro drivers tended to accelerate games slower than the consumer drivers, and the pro drivers tended to accelerate CAD apps much faster than consumer drivers.

Also you get better support with the pro cards.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/246658-15-gaming-professional-graphics-cards

Thank you for the quick response. Is there any particular brand (PNY, MSI, EVGA, Gigabye, Palit, etc.) you would recommend?

Saw you're using an other adobe program but it has the same requirements i believe

64-bit support required: Intel® Pentium® 4 or AMD Athlon® 64 processor (Intel Core™ i3, i5, or i7 or AMD Phenom® II recommended); Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Phenom II required for Adobe Premiere Pro