Sign in with
Your question

Is an aftermarket heatsink necessary for non-OCed' CPU?

Last response: in CPUs
March 14, 2012 5:02:13 PM

I'll be using an Intel I7 2600K. I was thinking about the Coolermaster V8.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

This is my first build and I'm a little scared about applying the thermal paste but I want to make this build as efficient as I can.

Reviews said the 2600k gets a lil above average on the heat level and that you should use an aftermarket cooler.

Basically my question is will it increase performance or help anything on a CPU, that I do not plan on overclocking at all. Should I do it or not and is the thermal paste difficult for a new builder?
March 14, 2012 5:34:12 PM

If you are not overclocking then a aftermarket cooler is usually not needed. But if you have the money now, or if the V8 is on sale or something, I think that you should get it.

Even if you do not plan to O.C. it is a reasonably easy thing to do and getting a aftermarket cooler now will open that option for you down the road.

Applying thermal paste is not hard, but it is important that you do it right. There are plenty of guides around the internet that show different techniques. They all, more or less, have the same performance so pick the one that you are most comfortable with and go for it!

Depending on what temperature that your CPU is reaching now, a aftermarket cooler might give you a *slight* improvement, but it will probably not be noticeable.

I am still quite a noob with this sort of stuff, so maybe someone else on here could correct me, or explain it better :) 

Hope this helps!
m
l
a b à CPUs
March 14, 2012 5:37:22 PM

Hi :) 

No....

All the best Brett :) 
m
l
Related resources
March 14, 2012 5:39:08 PM