Sign in with
Your question

Core temps too much?

Last response: in CPUs
March 14, 2012 5:47:09 PM

im running an i5-2500k no overclock with intel cooler and cpu temp is showing 85 degrees c after 10 min in prime95 so i shut it off and then it goes back down to 40 degrees celsius. this seems a little too big of a difference and wondering if that seems wrong. Thanks for the support and let me know if i need to add anything else.

PC
PWR - coolmaster gx 650
VGA - ATI RADEON 5870 2GB
RAM - 16 GB Corsair XMS3
CPU - i5-2500k
Case - Thermaltake
HDD - WD 1TB

Thanks for all the help this is my first build and the temps are freaking me out a little getting the mounting brakets from corsair in a week hopefully solves the problem but let me know if there is anything i can do right now cuz im scared to play battlefield 3 and would like to play :D 

okay so i reapplied the thermal paste with artic silver 5 (first time i did it i used the spread method) and used the tiny x method and it now runs at 78 degrees celsius would still like to know if that is a good core temp or a little hot thanks

More about : core temps

a c 188 à CPUs
March 14, 2012 7:15:43 PM

85c on an Intel® Core™ i5-2500K with a stock HSF (heatsink/fan) might be a touch high but with Prime95 running it isnt out of the question. With the stock HSF 40c idle is within the norm.

Check to make sure that your HSF is seated well. Reach in and grab one of the twist clips and pull straight up. If you can do this with any of the clips you dont have the HSF seated right.

If you are looking for a good 3rd party HSF take a look at the Cooler Master Hyper 212+. With the 212+ with 2 fans I run my Intel Core i7-2600K in idle temps in high 20s to low 30s.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 14, 2012 7:29:39 PM