Sign in with
Your question

Flashing Bios

Last response: in Motherboards
January 19, 2013 5:24:52 PM

Does anyone know how to flash the bios on a motherboard? I could really use some help... I have never done it before.. I have an Asrock P67 Extreme 4 Generation 3. I tried getting a driver for my mobo and after it install it had me reboot...well now its crashing during boot and it WILL NOT stop.

More about : flashing bios

a c 557 V Motherboard
January 19, 2013 6:57:29 PM

Does the board boot in safe mode?
m
l
January 19, 2013 6:58:56 PM

I can't get it to.... once it gets past the bios screen it crashes... i can only get into BIOS...nothing else
m
l
Related resources
a c 557 V Motherboard
January 19, 2013 7:14:30 PM

Try tapping F8 at startup, bring the safe boot menu and choose to start in safe mode.
Or reinstall Windows.
m
l
January 19, 2013 10:00:20 PM

i have windows 8... hitting F8 does not bring up safe mode any more.. and i cant refresh, reinstall, NOTHING with windows... if i boot from CD.... crashes....i have to somehow reset my mobo
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 19, 2013 10:22:07 PM

im wondering if this may have to do with usb. People are experiencing usb related boot problems with that board when using usb 3. Disabling legacy usb v2 in the bios may help but will render any usb2 ports useless and only working for 3.

If you have anything recently plugged thats using usb 3, try take it out or perhaps any wireless or additional usb devices recently connected.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 19, 2013 10:23:05 PM

I would also like to mention some firmware can flash and install right from windows. you may not even need to do that if what you download from the manufacturer site is .exe just follow the instructions in the bios firmware from the site
m
l
January 19, 2013 10:45:05 PM

i cant get past the screen post post BIO..... so anything to do with windows or getting into windows.. I CANT DO IT =/
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 20, 2013 12:33:29 AM