Getting the most power possible from an eMachines el1850

PowerBatamanta

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2011
This is my first post here, I'm a bit of a newbie, and English is not my first language, but please, bear with me.

I have recently bought a new computer (an Acer eMachines el1850), which was quite cheap (€170) and now I wanted to tweak it in order to make games somehow playable.

Firstly, the specs:
Graphics card: Intel (R) g41 express chipset (however, in the case itself it says it's an Intel GMA X4500)
CPU: Intel Pentium (R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @3.20 GHz
RAM: 4Gb DDR3
hard drive: Hitachi HDS721050CLA362
I couldn't gather much more information (I'm such a noob), but I have 500 Gb of disk space, and the computer is running Windows 7.

I've been thinking about overclocking the CPU or the Graphics card, since I have a very low budget (in fact, from none to €150), but I wanted to ask to experts before

There will be no features on the board that will allow an overclock, pretty sure.

You can do much though by getting a GPU and PSU upgrade. Is it a full width tower or narrow? Does the board have a PCI-E slot?

Post pics of the interior and back, and a close-up of the PSU label.

PowerBatamanta

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2011
The case is quite narrow, and I haven't checked its inside yet, but I'm going to post many pics when I get my hands on a camera.
However, I have found a pic of the motherboard
$(KGrHqEOKikE6Z2g1q6gBOnLUFWepw~~60_3.JPG

PowerBatamanta

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2011
I've kept the case of an old computer, which can do the job:
3577459622-Hp+Pavilion+t000.jpg

3555153191-Hp+Pavilion+t000.jpg

3577459622-Hp+Pavilion+t000.jpg

BTW I have that computer unused, so I was wondering if any of its components could turn useful.

That's a strange MB. It's mATX in width but it's awfully deep. We'll want a measurement there.