Sign in with
Your question

Gateway Solo 9100 flash BIOS semi-worked - HELP!

Last response: in CPUs
March 15, 2012 1:42:31 AM

Hello Tom's,

My first post was describing my methodology to install a new processor on an old Gateway Solo 9100 Laptop for a Linux/XP distro. This is going to be a detailed post since I am still a noob at all of this.

First - shout out to user phyco126 - awesome assistance and advice.

What was happening was that the BIOS was reporting a wrong speed, but XP reported the right speed. So I did flash the BIOS (from Gateway's site, not Intel's) to the latest they had for my model (and I can provide the link if needed). So I followed the instructions, but I unfortunately did it with the new processor installed (I forgot to do it with the old one in there). Anyway, it seemed that it worked - BIOS reported the right speed.

But then it couldn't find the OS. But I was able to see files on the hard drive. So I thought, ok, well, let me wipe the drive and start all over (this is a fairly new drive, like 5 months old and got it brand new). So there was nothing of value on the drive.

Now, here's the latest. I am trying to put Win98 on there - just to start with something (my CD-ROM player, for some reason, can't read my "burnt" XP iso distro unless I open it with Power ISO, and that's how I was able to load XP through Win98, since my Win98 CD is genuine). Problem is, when I do setup, it won't even format, and it will say "Not ready, format terminated."

Fdisk works, the partition is there, but I cannot format the drive. Another error I see is that, when I run format C: from the command prompt, it says that "Windows Setup requires 7340032 bytes," and to that I say this is a 100 GB drive (and the partition it creates alone is 7.65 GB).

The drive isn't bad since I can format over to NTFS on my other system and store things on it. I don't think my CD-ROM drive is bad since I can still see the files on the Win98 CD.