Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Will this system work?

Last response: in Systems
December 11, 2011 4:23:25 PM

Hey sorry for waiting forever to choose a best answer! Putting together this computer was fantastically fun... all went really smooth! The case is big enough to fit everything and have room for expansion which is great. I wish I had more time to put into using it but now that the school semester has started I haven't had much of a chance to really test this machine to the fullest. I have had no problems with it so far, and it has performed very well. Well worth the investment... Thanks again Kajabla for all of your input, you obviously win BA for this thread.

*With a lot of help from Kajabla I finally decided on a build. Everything below is what I ordered. And now we play the waiting game...

SUBTOTAL FOR ALL PARTS: $787.92

Hello everyone,

I've never built my own computer before, so I wanted to make sure that the system would work before I bought any parts.

First of all, I would be using this computer for a variety of things, but the main use for this computer would be gaming. Since gaming computers require decent processor/video card, it basically encapsulates anything else I'd really need to do. I may also be running multiple virtual machines. Some people say that having six cores is overkill, but even though more and more games are utilizing multiple cores, would it still be a good idea to reduce to a quad-core? I'm trying to make a lasting build.

I'm not really trying to skimp on any parts, but anything that seems like it would be underutilized please let me know. I'm trying to keep the costs as low as possible but still allow me to play games that I enjoy on high settings, preferably ultra but really not necessary. (I.E Skyrim would be awesome)

Here is my build below, I'm pretty sure all parts are compatible but I could be wrong it is my first build!