CPU Advice for $700 Gaming Build

breakout89

Honorable
Mar 16, 2012
Hello, first off I wanna say this website is great. I've gotten a lot of useful information from this forum and have been a lurker for awhile. I'm currently a broke college student who up until this point has predominantly done his gaming on consoles, but after I found out about the May 15 release date for Diablo 3 I now would like to invest in a gaming PC. I know very little, but am aware that most builds start with the CPU. I've read good things about the Intel i5 2500k, but fear that in order to experience the full potential of this processor I would go over my budget(I do not want overpay and just end up bottlenecking my hardware's potential). I wouldn't mind bumping my budget to $800, but that would be my absolute limit and I would like to avoid it if at all possible. I guess my question is, which CPUs would some of y'all recommend for a budget such as mine with gaming in mind? Is it wishful thinking to want to use the Intel i5 2500k with my budget? I feel like once I decide on a CPU I will be able to come up with a "rough draft" build that I can later present on the Systems forum and get everything squared away.

Useful Information:
- i will not need to purchase a monitor, keyboard, mouse, or speakers. i will only need the case, everything inside it, and the OS
- Starcraft 2, Counter Strike: Global Offensive, & Star Wars: The Old Republic are a couple other games I would like to play
- it also might be worth mentioning that I'm not expecting to be able to play these games on "ultra" settings; I just would like to play these games smoothly, online with no hiccups on decent settings(if that's possible...i wouldn't know, because I'm a total noob) ;)

Any help is greatly appreciated! :) If I've left out any information that would be useful just ask. Thanks!