Few questions regarding my build

Shavako

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2011
Ok I've reached the point where I've picked out most of what I need and have settled on it except for my CPU/mobo. Right now my GPU is in a combo deal with an Intel mobo, I was originally going to go with an AMD cpu and board but decided to check out some of the Intel processors. I'm just curious how the Phenom II x4 975 BE and the Core i5 2400 Sandy Bridge compare. I could save some money if I went with the AMD but I've heard the i5-2400 is WAY better. I find it kind of hard to believe that it's that much better (I'm probably hearing that from some Intel fanboys) This isn't an Intel vs. AMD post I'm just curious if I can still expect great performance if I try to save a few bucks.

I will mostly be gaming but in the future I may be doing some graphic design since I'm a computer science student but I'm not sure. I may even eventually buy another one of the GPUs I'm buying and crossfire them but that's gonna have to wait for a while. Also, how does the Radeon HD 6870 2GB compare to the Superclocked GeForce GTX 560 2GB

I might as well throw this question in instead of making another thread for what might be a simple question, with my current living arrangements I have to connect wirelessly to a router. I have a crappy Belkin USB dongle is it worth it to buy a $20 wireless PCI card?

arges86

Distinguished
according to
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-cpu-overclocking,3077-3.html
I'd go w/ the Intel CPU.
The current Sandybridge architecture is faster and more efficient clock for clock than what AMD offers at the same speed. Even AMD's newest Bulldozer architecture can't compete w/ Intel's offering.

As for your wireless...
I always go w/ a PCI card. It doesn't take up a USB port. Unless your going SLI, and it takes up a slot. I'd go w/ a PCI card. They are faster and less likely to have problems.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833166051

Shavako

Distinguished