Phenom II X4 970 VS i3-2100 for AutoCAD/SolidWorks/CATIA

psm360

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
I am an engineering student & am going to learn the following CAD softwares.
I am going to build a new system which would be running mainly CAD softwares like AutoCAD / SolidWorks / CATIA and some occasional gaming (NFS).
I shortlisted two processors, : Intel i3-2100 (2 cores, 4 threads) and AMD Phenom II X4 970 (4 cores, 4 threads). Both are similarly priced.
So my question is with which one should I go?
Do the above CAD softwares use multi-threading? If they do use, then do u think Phenom II would be good for its 4 cores @ more clock speeds & still overclockable. Or should I choose i3 for its modern arch. and better single threaded performance.
I am going to add a GPU (maybe Radeon 6670).
Gaming is no question here as they both perform very well when mated with a decent GPU. :bounce:

Solution
I would assume the Phenom II would be better for the programs you listed due to the 4 cores versus 2 with Hyper-threading, although I doubt the difference would be noticeable. I would go the 2100 route as you will always have the option to upgrade to a much more powerful CPU without having to change your motherboard if you ever feel the need.

evang

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2010
I would assume the Phenom II would be better for the programs you listed due to the 4 cores versus 2 with Hyper-threading, although I doubt the difference would be noticeable. I would go the 2100 route as you will always have the option to upgrade to a much more powerful CPU without having to change your motherboard if you ever feel the need.

Solution

jeffredo

Distinguished