Build fresh, or upgrade a little at a time?

Shavako

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2011
Hello, I'm starting to transition more into PC gaming from console gaming and my current PC just isn't going to cut it. My current specs are:

Biostar A880G+ Micro ATX AM3 mobo
AMD Athlon II x2 3.2GHz cpu
nVidia GeForce GT430 Fermi
2GB Rendition by Crucial RAM
ePower 550W PSU
an old 320GB HD I pulled from an old Dell Inspiron 531s
APEX TX-381-C Micro ATX case

So as you can see I'm not going to have a very enjoyable time playing some of the new games that are available so I decided it's time to upgrade. However I'm a college student with a part time job making about 200 dollars a week so I don't have a massive budget. If I buy everything at once my budget is going to be 900-1000 dollars but if I upgrade a part at a time I could justify spending closer to 1200. I don't know where to start with upgrading though and what I can upgrade based off of my current system.

I've picked out a few parts that I would buy to just build a new system they are:

AMD Phenom II x4 975
Radeon HD 6870 2GB
GSkill Ripjaw X series 8GB (2x4) RAM
Antec Neo Eco 620W PSU
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AM3+ ATX mobo
WD 250GB 7200RPM SATA 6.0GB/s HD
NXT M59 mid ATX tower
Rosewill PCI wireless adapter
Samsung Blu-Ray reader CD/DVD reader/writer

and since I need an actual monitor instead of my LCD TV: ASUS VE294H 24" LED LCD

All of that totals about 910 after shipping and rebates. Which isn't that bad of a price but I had originally set my budget at 700 until I realized that just wasn't going to work ;). For some reason I feel like spending all that up front is worse than spending a little more over time so I would prefer to do it a little at a time but I don't know what I can upgrade first and what order I should upgrade the parts in. I would probably bump up to a 500GB-1TB HD and maybe a bit better GPU, mobo, and case if I went the upgrade route and spend a little more.