Is my 2500K temperature too high?

G

I finally got i5 2500K yesterday and noticed in BIOS that CPU temperature is about 55 °C which seemed way too high for idle CPU. I figured I didn't attach the CPU heatsink properly so I reattached it. BIOS then showed about 45-58 °C.

I installed RealTemp and did some testing, turns out temperature is in anywhere between mid 30s and low 40s when idle and in all ranges of 60 when under 100% load.

Are these temperatures normal for stock heatsink? I'm also using the default thermal compound. I can't say I'm not worried about temperatures being to high.

I'm getting Zalman CNPS9900 MAX next month and I hope idle temperatures could be below 30 °C and 100% load temperatures below 50 °C on stock clock speeds. I plan to OC to 4.0-4.5 GHz as well.

Help is much appreciated.

dane332

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2011
I have never used the intel stock heatsink before. But i do know that with my i5 2300(i'm cheap and was able to find it on ebay for 100 dollars great deal)
idles on low 40c and then goes into low 50s with an after market cooler.(my thermal paste is not well spread, and i didn't have enough to reapply.)

i suggest you get new thermal paste at least until your new heatsink gets in.

it will make a world of difference

G

I swear I had some Arctic Ceramique lying around that I bought for my ex laptop, but I can't find it anwhere.

Maybe I should just hurry up and buy CNPS9900 MAX this month instead of next?

Anyway, I'd like to hear some more opinions.

I did more testing with Prime95 and looks like idle is low-mid 30s and load is mid 60s to low 70s even.

G

I searched for more similar threads and people say BIOS temperature is not idle... My idle desktop temperature is much closer to 40 (from both sides).

Prime95 testing didn't exceed 72 °C.

Should I be worried about my chip or something?

tajisi

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2011