Looking for advice on a new gaming computer

MLG Pharmacist

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2011
Have not 100% selected my set up but narrowed it down to roughly to selections. First I am building this computer for mainly gaming purposes being Warcraft and SWTOR. Looking for a medium range gaming machine.

First I was looking at the I5 2500k for about $180. However I’m lost in selecting a mobo for it. I most likely will not be over clocking it right away since I’m relatively new to creating my own computer. Some options I have come across surfing the web are:
ASRock Z68 Pro3-M Socket 1155 Z68 mATX Intel Motherboard($110)
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 LGA 1155 Z68 ATX Intel Motherboard($160)
GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 LGA 1155 Z68 mATX Intel Motherboard($115).
Any suggestions on these mobo’s or other options around the same price range that would be better for my purposes?

Second option I came across is a bundle with Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Six Core Boxed Processor and M5A87 Socket AM3+ 870 ATX AMD Motherboard for $240. So relative to the I5 set up, around $100+ cheaper.

For both set ups I plan on using a GTX 560 TI for my graphics card.
So I guess my main questions are the differences in those mobo’s for the I5, is it worth it for my use to get a $160 one versus a $110? And secondly, is the I5 setup versus the 1100T is it worth the extra $100+ for my use? Will I really see that much of a difference, I only want a mid range gaming machine at this point. Any other comments/advice is much appreciated. Thanks.

Solution
There have not been any games released that take advantage of 6 cores , so a quad core is all you need to do gaming. The i5-2500k is an unlocked multiplier cpu and is very easy to overclock and when paired with an Asus motherboard makes it a great overclocking combination. Asus MB are known for being overclocking friendly and with all the features that they usually come with make setting up and using hardware very easy.