Your question

Is this a good/compatible system

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
December 13, 2011 6:51:38 PM

Hello, I am selecting parts for my second gaming rig since my first one (a budget rig that cost me 250) just won't cut it for current gen games. I have everything picked out except for the case however I'm a complete amateur when it comes to hardware so I want to double check everything and make sure it's all good. Of course I did read the reviews for each component to make sure it's not a complete piece of junk. I'm 95% sure everything will work great together but 95% of the people reading this know a lot more about hardware than I do. So here's what I've picked out so far:
Mobo/CPU (combo deal) Core i5 2500k Sandy Bridge / ASUS Sabertooth P67
GPU HD 6970 2GB
PSU Antec Earthwatts 650W
RAM Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600
HD Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Optical Drive Samsung Blu-Ray

And like I said I'm still undecided on the case. Antec has a couple nice ones that I was looking at the:
Antec Lanboy and the Antec DF-85

My budget is $1100-1200 so I have around $150 to spend on a case so I'm open to any suggestions on a case in that price range. I would like a larger mid ATX case or a full ATX case. I have just a few other questions about my build.

1. Is the PSU powerful enough?
2. Is the P67 board basically the same as the newer z68 just without the onboard graphics?
3. And not really a question but I'm open to any suggestions you have to make this build more efficient either performance or price wise or any other suggestions you may have. Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to help me out with this.

More about : good compatible system

December 13, 2011 7:04:38 PM