Motherboard opinions, sandy bridge compatible

Semmix

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2011
Hello all!

This is my first time posting on these forums but from what I have read people are friendly and helpful so here goes!

I am planning on building a new gaming pc, sandy bridge i5 2500k (3.3Ghz with the 3.7 Turbo boost), and a EVGA 560Ti graphics card, planning about 600W or up for a power supply. I've got some DDR3 ram all picked out (2x4gb sticks), but I'm not sure what motherboard to get!

I'd like a motherboard that is reliable, plenty of features (including HDMI, USB 3.0, etc.), and confused about chipset (z68, p67, ???). I'll probably be dropping another video card in there at some point so SLi is important. I've been told ASrock is a good bang for your buck, and they certainly have a lot of features, but I'm not sure how reliable they are...

I heard that ivy bridge is going to use the same slots that sandy bridge does? Does that mean that I'd be able to upgrade to ivy bridge at some point or will the motherboard not support it?

Thanks a lot you guys! :D

g-unit1111

Titan
I am planning on building a new gaming pc, sandy bridge i5 2500k (3.3Ghz with the 3.7 Turbo boost), and a EVGA 560Ti graphics card, planning about 600W or up for a power supply. I've got some DDR3 ram all picked out (2x4gb sticks), but I'm not sure what motherboard to get!

Your RAM will be determined by what motherboard you get, not the other way around. No matter which board you get it will be a good idea to head over to your manufacturer's support website. They generally post guidelines for picking out compatible memory (voltage and timing settings are huge factors in this) and which parts they've already tested. They can't test every part but a few from one manufacturer, a few from another will generally determine what's available.