Sign in with
Your question

$2500 AU plus to spend, wanting longevity.

Last response: in Systems
December 13, 2011 8:38:24 PM

Hi guys, Firstly thank you for any answers and knowlage you give and all I have learned here so far... I'm a newb builder and have been reading some 2 months or so.. but am nervous of blowing my precious $ with some simple mistake...

I am after a comp I can use for the next 5 years, by just upgrading components now & then. after the least complicated (ie won't over clock or have any specialized needs) and most practical ($ on basics ie...lot of space and places to plug in cards, not on specialized stuff)

I need to run at least 3 screens 22 to 24 inch, I run photoshop, (open all the time) while having Second Life game open and music playing or watching tv..) (I make textures and meshes & sell them to SL players. The SL enviroment is not on my hard drive but server side, and is full of scripts/ textures (some badly made) etc, made by other players so it hard to run smoothly. )

So basically am after the most basic and steady high power to have most of these things all running 24/7... that will be upgradable for years to come.

-full tower case - corsair or fractal

-mobo - Asus - as many slots and as compatible, ivy ready etc

-power - alot I wanted 1200 to 1600 as tv sound card & outside NAD amp, wacom drawing tablet and various other bits and peices all hang off puter.

-cooling - It gets up to 50 degrees C in this room.. and the puter will run all the time

- gpu Nvidia not keen to cross fire

- cpu still valid in 5 yrs time

- ram at least 16

Anyone got any advice? I am sorry for my lack of proper jargon.. building a pc is just not my area..

Thank you all

Meri
December 14, 2011 12:16:45 AM

Any preferred retailers, close/ good warranties? Or just using any of the large Australian sellers?

Also do you have have the screens or are they in the purchase?