Music production pc help please :)

twistedsignal

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2011
Hello everyone, new here so go easy now eh :).

Been looking to build a new pc, been looking for a while now and came up with the following components:

- Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB

- Asus P8P67 PRO REV 3.1 Socket 1155 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

- Kingston HyperX Genesis 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual/Quad Channel Kit (KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX)

- Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache - OEM (WD1002FAEX)

- Sony Optiarc AD-7280S 24x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM

- Zalman Z9 Plus Black Tower Case

- Corsair TX 750W V2 PSU - 80plus Bronze Certified

Could you please tell me if this is a good list for my new pc?

I won't be overclocking but would like the option to in the future.

I am literally ready to buy the bits now, just need some re assurance as this is my first build.

Thanks a lot for any help,

Matt :)

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
i seen my bros music PC, his got 3 monitors (1 screen just for EQ) if you want more then one monitor you would also need some kind of video card.

Sound card??

Also if you can buy SSD (~60-64gb) type install windows on it, run programs from it. and get regular 1tb for storage.

cpu mb memory psu looks good to me

twistedsignal

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2011
Hiya, thanks for reply, sorry forget to mention, all ready external sound card and video card i have all ready.

is everything ok though,

please could you explain more into the ssd option ?

thanks mann!

matt

Welcome to my little world! I love audio production, it is my first love as far as art is concerned!
What you have picked out will be just fine for audio work. Even an old Core 2 Duo will keep up with several (10+) tracks of uncompressed high quality editing and effects in real time, or minimal rendering time. The hardware for the computer is the easy part.