Sign in with
Your question

First build please can you go over my components

Last response: in Systems
December 14, 2011 1:12:30 PM

Hello everyone, new here so go easy now eh .

Been looking to build a new pc, been looking for a while now and came up with the following components:

- Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB

- Asus P8P67 PRO REV 3.1 Socket 1155 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

- Kingston HyperX Genesis 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual/Quad Channel Kit (KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX)

- Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache - OEM (WD1002FAEX)

- Sony Optiarc AD-7280S 24x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM

- Zalman Z9 Plus Black Tower Case

- Corsair TX 750W V2 PSU - 80plus Bronze Certified

Could you please tell me if this is a good list for my new pc?

I won't be overclocking but would like the option to in the future.

I am literally ready to buy the bits now, just need some re assurance as this is my first build.

Thanks a lot for any help,

Matt

More about : build components

December 14, 2011 1:25:33 PM

I don't see a Graphics card mentioned anywhere?

RAM - 16GB is more than likely over-kill for any application you will be using. 8GB is generally the recommended and you will most likely never see your system use more than 4GB unless you have some specifically intensive applications that will utilize it. 2x4GB Sticks, 1600MHz, CL9 (make sure its 1.5v RAM) - G.Skill and Corsair are popular choices.

PSU - Depends what GPU you plan on buying.

Motherboard - Id consider looking at ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3. Z68 packs a few more features than P67, over-clocks the same, and is PCI 3.0 ready.

December 14, 2011 1:50:23 PM

Looks pretty good. My thoughts are below...

MB - ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z LGA => http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...