M4A89GTDPRO/USB3 died... again

Chew N Tobacca

Honorable
Jan 25, 2013
Hello, this is my first time posting in these forums. I put together a custom system and have had mostly nothing but problems with it. I have now killed my 2nd motherboard, and am hoping to reach a conclusion.

Here is a list of components in my build:
Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTDPRO/USB3
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black edition
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws (4x2GB) F3-10666CL7D-4GBRH (2 sets of 2x2GB, purchased at separate times)
GPU: ASUS EAH5670 1GB DDR5 PCI-e
PSU: Antec Earthwatts EA650 Green
Cooling: Antec Kuhler H20 620
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB SATA, WD Raptor WD360 36GB
ODD: Lite-On iHAS422
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Kubuntu Linux 12.04 (upon its release)
All of which hardware are on the mobo QVL from ASUS, except the cooler and the ODD.
This system is not, nor has ever been, overclocked in any fashion.
This has been my 5th custom build and first of any problems, so I feel pretty confident in my knowledge.

And now here is the nonsense I've been through:
The system was originally built in June 2011. Upon completion, everything worked fine 1st time I pushed the button. So I thought. 3 months or so went by and I decided to purchase another 4GB (2x2GB) of RAM (mentioned above) to have a total of 8GB, as my line of work deemed it necessary. A few months later, I started having random crashes and blue screens. Right away I knew it was a hardware problem, since BOTH Windows AND Linux were crashing. After troubleshooting, all the info I could gather pointed to the RAM. With that, I started running tests (1 stick, 2 sticks, 4 sticks at a time) with every utility I could find. Beginning with MemTest+ for days and 30-some passes with different combinations, I also ran the Windows memory diagnostic with ALL tests enabled time and again with different combinations of 1, 2, and 4 sticks of RAM. None of which returned a single error.