Need advise on a Computer build I'm a newbie be easy!

TreyC

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2011
I'm trying to figure out what stuff i will be needing for this, My son likes playing WoW and I put together a very old ibm and made it work but the graphics are so terrible i just cant stand it anymore lol.. I noticed on there visuals screen that you need certian things to run the best setting and thats what im shooting for..Price is not a very big issue but cut me alittle slack. Also i want to make it look cool for my son i seen water cooling is the new big thing i think ill be going that route.. Thanks!

Solution
That's a nice one, don't usually see 480hz. So, do you have a case picked out yet? You'll need a DVD R/W combo drive also, if you don't have one. Make sure it's SATA, Samsung, LG, and Asus make good ones. Shouldn't have to spend more than $20-30 on it. Probably need a couple case fans as well, cases usually come with one or two but you should use 4+ in this for good airflow. The size of the fans will depend on the case you get, probably 120mm or 140mm. Decent ones usually run $8-20. The next might seem a bit odd, but if you don't have a laser guided mouse I would recommend picking one up also. They work a lot better than trackball mice in my experience, and you don't have to deal with the trackball getting junked up. They do...

g-unit1111

Titan
My son likes playing WoW and I put together a very old ibm and made it work but the graphics are so terrible i just cant stand it anymore lol..

Is there a spec sheet for this system? I'd be curious to know what it runs on that will make it run WOW but have terrible graphics.

I noticed on there visuals screen that you need certian things to run the best setting and thats what im shooting for..

What OS are you running? I'm not sure what you are talking about here.

Also i want to make it look cool for my son i seen water cooling is the new big thing i think ill be going that route..