Sign in with
Your question

Replacing my PC case

Last response: in Systems
December 17, 2011 6:13:15 PM

Hey guys, I am looking to replace my PC case, as my current microATX case is not big enough for the video card I plan on purchasing soon. I have also always wanted a case with LEDs, but that is beside the point. I have no experience building computers, so I am just making sure that I will not run into any problems when switching cases. This is the case I plan on purchasing.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

Basically what I'm wondering, is everything about cases universal? I know it supports microATX MOBOs. That's all I need to know for it to be compatible with my parts, right? I'm sorry if this question doesn't make sense, I just don't want to spend a hundred bucks, have this delivered and find out it doesn't have the right connectors or something like that. thanks very much in advance.

More about : replacing case

a b U Graphics card
December 19, 2011 9:14:41 AM

Cases are pretty universal yes.

However, I don't think the HAF 922 you selected is a very good value purchase. I wouldn't pay $115 for it.

You should be able to get a comparable case for a little over half of that, or $30 off at least.

It matters how long your video card is and stuff like that because many cases have trouble fitting long video cards.

If you have a really long video card, your best bet is a case with removable bays, like mine has.

My video card isn't overly long or anything, but my case does have a removable hard drive holder in the middle of it (which I have removed and don't use) so I can move up to a really long 590 if I want to without worrying about anything.

If you look up PC-K59 on newegg you can see the 3 different bays in there. It is $120 at this moment too, but I managed to get it half off on Black Friday ($60 shipped).