Temps on i2500k seem a bit too high?

xtremeclowny

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2012
Hello, Quite recently I installed an i2500k using artic silver x-2 and the stock fan. Anyways, im running it at standard settings and i hadn't had a chance to really use it until today when i started playing a not very demanding game called combat arms. I took a screenshot of the temps at the time but i forgot the photobucket info. and i do not feel like creating a new account at the moment. At the time, the temp went as high as 56 C and mb temp was up to 34 C. The cpu usage was up to 60%. I figured that the problem was due to the way in which i applied the thermal paste. So i went ahead, cleaned it up and re-applied it. I tried the game again right after applying the paste and the temps stayed at a max of 44C. Idk if that is a bad thing and if there is anything I should do? Idk if the x-2 is supposed to be good paste. I was thinking that maybe the problem is due to a paste defficiency and that i could fix it by getting a better paste but Im not sure if that could be it. Im rather broke at the moment and would rather not buy an aftermarket sink.

Any suggestions? And say I was to keep things the way they are for a while until I can buy a better sink. What is the highest temp that i can safely go up to without causing any damage?

Thanks,

Isaac, R.

dadof1hunter

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
The MAX is like 80c (Damage to Processor) There are a lot of overclocked i5's that hit 72c as their Max while Stressing the system for long peroids. I've got mine maxxing out at 68c after Stressing. So on a hot day while gaming I might hit 72c ... MAYBE...

diellur

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
The i5-2500K has a thermal limit of 98 deg C...so no worries there.

Your first run at 56 deg C seemed a bit high, but the 44 deg C seems like a normal temp for gaming, even an undemanding game. Other factors come into play too...the cooler you have, case ventilation and airflow, dust build-up etc.

xtremeclowny