Sign in with
Your question

$2000 dev/gaming system - new to building

Last response: in Systems
December 19, 2011 1:15:57 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy a new computer. My old computer was built some time in the year 2000, and is becoming almost unusable with even casual workflows, so there's practically no point to draw comparisons or re-use parts...

I'm studying computer science, and I take an interest in development, so I'd rather not have my machine prevent me from working on projects... The machine will mostly be used for development, browsing, watching movies, listening to music, etc. These are not necessarily in need of a powerful computer. However, as a secondary function, I will probably do some gaming when I start running out of high priority things to do (example of games I may play... Diablo 3, Skyrim, StarCraft 2, ...?). I'd like to keep that option open, so I may not invest very much in a GPU for now, but I'd like to keep that as an option down the road. By this logic, I should probably buy a good enough GPU, and later, possibly buy a second to put into SLI or a brand new GPU... Shopping is an ordeal for me, so I'd rather buy something that will last me a while, with the possibility of adding a second or third GPU...

I intend to run primarily under a / several Linux distros... and have Windows, possibly even Mac OS installed on the side for rare usage.... i.e. gaming or specific dev needs...

I have no stake in any sort of brand name wars, I just want something that is most importantly reliable and hopefully performs well. I'm not rich enough to be willing to spend $1000 on a CPU that does nothing more than give me bragging rights, but I am willing to pay enough to avoid cutting corners...

I was thinking of buying the computer on Boxing Day or during Christmas sales... but this probably means a lot of the parts won't be in stock, so I may just stick to doing price matches...