Sign in with
Your question

Computer shuts down during Prime95

Last response: in Systems
December 19, 2011 1:25:29 AM

Hello Everybody,

This forum has been very helpful in a lot of different topics, so I first want to thank everyone that contributes in helping the community.

I'm new to building computers(I'am sure you all hear this alot) I have build my first system a few days ago and at first it seem to go well. Before I continue here is my build.

Intel i7 2600K 3.4Ghz (not OC'd...yet)
CM 212+ HS
Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 Board
Corsair Vengeance (4x4GB) 1333mhz (Running @ 1600 Mhz)
120GB Mushkin Sata III SSD
Corsair TX850 PSU
Corsair 400r Case
No Video Card

So here is the issue....

Everything installed fine, no problems. Windows booted up. Installed Updated Drivers. Updated Bios.

I wanted to make sure that everything was sound by running Prime95. Ran the program a few times last night and it shut the system down at about 1:20min and did not reboot. Not sure if it blue screened or not as I was not sitting in front of it either of the times.

Temps seem fine 24c idle/52c-Full load. I am using Asus Suite II as well as CPUID Hardware Monitor to monitor my temps and voltages. CPUIDHM seems to be recording temps 10 degress higher than the asus utility, so even at 62c it still seems to be a stable temp at full load(correct me if I'm wrong).

**Off Topic** Which one of these temperature monitors do you think is the most accurate? Should I be using something different?

Monitored voltages all seem stable on all rails.

First troubleshooting I did was decrease to the stock clock on the RAM. Still shut off after roughly an hour running blend test in P95. Ran Memtest and got no errors. Jumped the RTC to reset the Bios.