Networking Problem? (Forwarding?)

know-not94

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2010
Hello, let me first mention that i'm not too good at networking, i'm fairly good with computers but networking is not my forte.

The problem i have started with me needing a better wireless connection my my bedroom and the computer is almost as far away in the house as it could be. The router i have is only the free Sagem ADSL router that came when i subscribed to sky broadband and is not all that good range wise combined with the walls of my house being made of some strange signal dampening material ¬¬ . anyway i though it would be best to get a newer router with better range... but that's not in my budget.

Finally i came to using a second router as a midpoint...and that's where i hit a dead end. a relative gave me an unused BT Home hub (v1.5 white one) and i have a reasonable ethernet cable to place it in a position to better the signal in my bedroom. i hooked it up and tried it on my PS3 and i got through to PSN fine but i tried connecting via my iPod touch and it brought me to the homehub settings page, after setting an admin password i tried to connect again later via my PS3 and no dice. Now that's kinda where my story ends, i have no idea how i am supposed to network the router to forward the internet connection from the Sagem Router. Any other info you require to help me, just ask but i'm not really sure what would be required. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ina advance

you need to log into the BT and disable the DHCP and set its LAN IP to match the IP scheme of your main router ending in 253. If main is 192.168.1.1, set BT to 192.168.1.253

right now you have two active DHCPs. The first time your PS3 picked up and IP from your main router; however, the second time the BT was faster to provide the IP. That is why you could not connect anymore.

know-not94

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2010