Your question
Solved

Did I fry my motherboard?

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Build
Last response: in Motherboards
February 1, 2013 2:57:39 AM

Im a noob who try to build a computer, so i bought everything brand new from the store and decided to try to build it myself. I dont know what is standoffs for so, I took it out and place it with another screws to hold it together with the case. however, I didnt install the Powersupply yet,so there is no electric power get into my motherboard, but I just placed it like that . later on , I went to my uncle house to let him help me to put all stuff together because I was confusing about how to put powercords and everything, so he took it off and put me standoffs after that he put everything on. now we tried to turn it on. it's on and all fans working fine ,but there is nothing show up on the screen, so he said it should be because I placed the motherboard directly and it may touch the case, so it might be short because all motherboard got a little battery already. he said he will take a look at it at this weekend, but I just feel nervous that did I burn my brandnew motherboard?

so I curious that I didnt plug it with power supply yet , how can a motherboard have a power to short? :pfff: 

More about : fry motherboard

a b V Motherboard
February 1, 2013 3:22:42 AM

cmos battery alone is not enough to short anything.

Make sure you plug the plastic standoffs that came with the case/motherboard. They support the weight of the motherboard and also other components you attach to it. So try spread them out evenly for best support.

You should have insulated washes for the screws as well, red looking washers. Dont necessary need to use them as long as the screws aren't too tight. Better to use them anyway since they should be in your possession.

There are numerous tutorials on how to build your own computers, just make sure the motherboard is in noway contacting metal from underneath.

Good luck :) 
m
l
February 1, 2013 3:28:21 AM