Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Is ivy bridge worth the wait

Last response: in CPUs
March 25, 2012 6:18:32 PM

hi im new to the tomhardware, ive been buy things for the last few weeks now and i was wondering if i should wait for IB or jump to SB. I5 2500k.
parts i have are asrock z68extreme gen3
seasonic psu 1050W
corsair vengence 16GB kit ddr3 1600
gskill ram cooler
corsair h100 cpu cooler
i went with the thor case by rosewell

planning to get some higher end video cards as i have the hd 6870 in CF. i wanted to stick with amd card but as of now the gtx 680 looks like the cards im gonna get for SLI.
im really impatient when it come to a new build and was wondering is IB gonna be that great of a cpu. since i will be doing moderate gaming and HI10P video encoding. or is the i7 2600k more for me. sorry but i wanted to support amd as long as i can but there offering is slim to none when it come to performance.

BTW whaty do you all think about the HD 7970 vs gtx 680 since they will be in multi monitors setup for gamming and application all three monitors are 1080p 120HZ samsung telivision @ 46"

More about : ivy bridge worth wait

Best solution

March 25, 2012 6:59:11 PM

You might as well go for sandy bridge as you've got everything else already. Just go for the 2500k as hi10p doesn't use hyper threading.

As for the graphics cards, personally I'd go for 2 gtx 680's but you'd be fine with two of either.
a b à CPUs
March 25, 2012 7:08:19 PM

Z77 is probably a bigger upgrade than a IB, that said you get the faster memory SPD, native USB 3 and PCI e support.

1050w is also a bit overkill and also Corsair memory sucks, I would change that two. Vengeance is not good and doesn't overclock well, corsair memory is totally unreliable.
Score
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 25, 2012 7:35:05 PM

yeah return the memory and psu. the psu is overkill.
Score
March 25, 2012 7:45:21 PM

Ell unless you plan to go 4 way sli/crossfirex ;-)