Sign in with
Your question

How can I override my video card's settings and output 1440p over HDMI?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 23, 2011 7:00:33 AM

I don't yet have either item.
Computer is an HP dv7-6178us and monitor is a Dell U2711. The video card for that is a Radeon 6490m, which supports HDMI out up to 1920x1200. But I KNOW that HDMI easily supports 2560x1440. It's just a software thing, correct? I want to know it's possible before I buy these things. The computer has only VGA and HDMI... no DisplayPort nor DVI-D........ is it an EDID issue? I know that there is software to edit that. If I can force *Windows 7* to display 2560x1440 on the external monitor, will it definitely work even though my *video card* doesn't?
October 23, 2011 7:18:44 AM

1920x1080 is the highest I can go and I have a Samsung syncmaster HD monitor. It will only display resolutions that the monitor will accept.

It is not just a software thing. It will depend on your monitor's ability to process the HD signal and show it to you.

At the highest, I think sometimes I see a fly on the windowpane next to the enemy sniper.
m
l
October 23, 2011 7:32:49 AM

x Heavy said:
1920x1080 is the highest I can go and I have a Samsung syncmaster HD monitor. It will only display resolutions that the monitor will accept.

It is not just a software thing. It will depend on your monitor's ability to process the HD signal and show it to you.

At the highest, I think sometimes I see a fly on the windowpane next to the enemy sniper.

Yeah... this monitor is supposed to be able to display 2560x1440. It's my computer's ability to send that signal. I mean... I KNOW it can... it supports higher resolutions through DVI and DisplayPort. It's just that my computer only *has* HDMI... =\

#firstworldproblems
m
l
Related resources
April 24, 2012 12:13:05 PM

superjake40 said: