Inputs for a Budget PC (700 - 800$)

venk90

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012
Hello I am seeking some opinions for a budget build.

I am looking to build around the AMD llano 3870k. Should I wait for trinity ? will it allow dual discrete cards in SLI/CF in the future wen i upgrade ?

Also if I build around the 3870k, how good will it be in games like fifa and some other not so cutting edge games ? (I will be using it with 1866Mhz ram)

For the motherboard to go with it I was looking at the Gigabyte D2H and ASUS F1 A75 M Pro, does the ASUS support any GPU overclocking ? Is gigabyte any good ? I prefer the ASUS for its 4 RAM slots and ASUS seems to have decent reviews.

Can I run the RAM at 1866 with all slots populated ?

This computer will mostly be used for light gaming,internet and some engineering calculation work. (I am a student)

I require all components and any suggestions regarding them will be useful.
Looking for a good Full HD screen

diellur

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Why get a Llano if you're also getting discrete GPUs? The Llano chip is more suited for HTPCs and home PCs on light duties. You should really be looking at Intel as they have the widest range of CPUs in terms of both performance and budget right now, which will do you for several years to come. However, if it is just light gaming you're doing then you likely don't need a discrete GPU and Llano is the way to go.

Both Gigabyte and Asus are good mobo manufacturers. However, they don't tend to be what's responsible for the GPU overclocking...that's down to software suites like MSI Afterburner (which works on multiple cards, even non-MSI ones). The mobo overclocking focuses on the CPU.

venk90

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012