Combo Gaming/Workstation build, under $750

someguyy

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2006
Hi all,

Its been 5 years since I built my last computer so I am in major need of an upgrade. I am a senior Mechanical Engineering student and I spend a lot of time running SolidWorks (CAD) and Star CCM+ (CFD) and my old dual core, which is fine for CAD doesnt really cut the mustard for CFD (or gaming). So here is what I am looking at so far:

Purchase Date Before 12/25

Budget Under 750 after rebates

Hardware not needed Monitors, mouse, keyboard, hard drives

Websites Newegg, Amazon (I have a prime account)

Country USA

Usage Gaming, Worstation Media center

Parts preference I plan to drive 2x 19in monitors and a 1080p TV all at once. So I think that limits me to AMD cards.

Overclocking Yes

SLI/Crossfire maybe

Resolution 1440x900 primary, being able to game my 32in 1080p TV would be nice but isnt critical.

Comments I expect to see about a 50/50 split between gaming and workstation use, and when I get out of school it will be mainly gaming and media. My computers stay on 24/7 so quiet is a bonus. I am an undergraduate engineer doing work for my school's Formula SAE team, so I am NOT in need of any professional level hardware (no quadro), I just need something that can solve CFD problems faster than what I have now and can play BF3.

Anyway here is what I have speced out:

ASUS 24X DVD Burner ($20)

ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 Intel Z68 ($125, $115 after MIR)

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 ($63, -15 combo with CPU)

Intel Core i5-2500K ( $220)

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO ( $34)

XFX Double D Radeon HD 6870 1GB ($180, $160 with $20 MIR)

Antec Three Hundred ATX Mid Tower ($60)

XFX Core Edition PRO650W ($90, $60 with $30 MIR)

All told this comes out to $792.42, after rebates I get $732.42, below where I was targeting (which is good!). Based on the comments in the thread this is pretty closed to finalized. Just debating on if I should save a bit of money and go with a 6850