Sign in with
Your question

Help with first AMD Build

Last response: in Systems
December 21, 2011 9:51:56 PM

Hi I'm new to building computers and I'm about to receive some parts from my friend to build a new computer.
Here's the parts:
GPU- HD 5850
CPU- AMD 965
Intel 80gb SSD
G.Skill 4GB Ram

I'm thinking about buying these parts:
Case- CM 690ii advanced
PSU- need help with this, is a 650w psu gonna be ok?
Motherboard- Biostar 990fx ($110)

What else would I need to complete this build? (besides monitor,mouse,keyboard)

More about : amd build

December 21, 2011 10:19:08 PM

- Some kind of Hard Drive... around 1TB in size to install apps and games on (use the SSD for Windows).

- Some sort of Optical Drive just to install some software/games that are on CDs/DVDs.

The PSU ought to be fine at 650W but you might want to be careful on the brand. I would recommend Corsair, PC Power&Cooling/OCZ or something from Antec that is a little more highend.
m
l
Related resources
a b À AMD
December 21, 2011 10:23:32 PM

cheeseburger said:
Hi I'm new to building computers and I'm about to receive some parts from my friend to build a new computer.
Here's the parts:
GPU- HD 5850
CPU- AMD 965
Intel 80gb SSD
G.Skill 4GB Ram

I'm thinking about buying these parts:
Case- CM 690ii advanced
PSU- need help with this, is a 650w psu gonna be ok?
Motherboard- Biostar 990fx ($110)

What else would I need to complete this build? (besides monitor,mouse,keyboard)

I would get a bigger SSD. An 80 gig SSD really is nothing and will get filled up so fast. If your doing just a boot drive i would do at least a 128 gig SSD. If your going to be using the SSD for more than just a boot drive I would go even bigger or use a standard HDD with an SSD boot drive. The SSD will hold all vital OS information and the standard HDD will hold all other info.