Sign in with
Your question

P67A-GD80 B3 "cold boot" (RAM issues?)

Last response: in Motherboards
February 3, 2013 4:05:28 PM

Hello everyone,

First of all, my native langage is not english, so please excuse my grammatical mistakes. :) 
Second point, i'm a noob, so if you could try to vulgarize your answer, would be really appreciated !

So, there is my problem :

I bought a computer with a P67A-GD80 B3 motherboard. It worked very well since the beginning, but I noticed sometimes it takes me one, two or several attempts to boot my computer (it turns on, immediately turns off with a "click", turns on, etc. And when it turns on, all the led and fans are ok).

And recently, I started having windows warning messages : "please close X programmes, not enough memory".

note : my RAM is G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory

and finally one night I made the mistake to put my computer on sleep mode. Since I am unable to start it again (always that loop : turns on, turns off, turns on, ...)

I looked on several forums and saw the cold boot issue, so I tried different things :

- clear the cmos
- move my RAM, tried with one stick, changed the plot

nothing. And i'm uncomfortable taking off the components to test them or other stuffs since I don't want to break anything.

So my question is : can it be my RAM which is dead (weird, because it doesn't work even with one stick and the other removed)

I ordered a new RAM, but is there something else I should do, i'm quite lost actually.

Thank you very much.
a b V Motherboard
February 4, 2013 4:15:05 AM