Sign in with
Your question

Which upgrade path should I take for next 1-2 years?

Last response: in Systems
December 22, 2011 8:52:05 PM

Hi guys/girls, what are your suggestions on how I should go about future upgrades for the next 1-2 years?

My motherboard is the ASUS M4A785-M, which is DDR2 1033 and can support up to the Phenom II X6 1100T. Right now, I've got 6GB DDR2 800 and an Athlon II X4 635.

First Path: I've been considering upgrading my board to one with DDR3/AM3+ so that way I can keep the Athlon II 635 for at least the next 6 months while being able to take advantage of the super cheap, reliable name brand 8GB DDR3 RAM you can get right now. Then later, I can go to the X6 when it drops in price or get whatever better AM3+ CPU comes out.

Second Path: Ditch AMD path and go with a new Intel CPU & board with DDR3 off the bat. I have little to no experience with Intel processors, and this looks more expensive to me.

What should I do? I don't really know what's coming up in the future for these products, so I want to think it through before I buy. Much thanks & happy holidays.

More about : upgrade path years

a b B Homebuilt system
December 22, 2011 10:21:50 PM

You need to tell us your system uses (favorite games for example). You may not need to upgrade yet. I'm on my second ssd, and will never go back to a regular hardrive, since I don't need alot of storage space. But your needs may be different. Video card or onboard video?
m
l
December 22, 2011 10:33:52 PM

I'm not the biggest gamer, but I do play games like GTAIV and CoD. Looking to get LA Noire and F3AR soon. I want faster responsiveness in everyday computing, esp when I have multiple things like photoshop, internet, and itunes open.

I'm sticking with mechanical HD space since I don't want to pay $100+ for 60GB (bought an OCZ SSD but am now returning it). And I'm gonna keep my GTX 460 for the next year.
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
December 22, 2011 10:46:13 PM