Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HTPC MAX 500$

Last response: in Systems
December 23, 2011 12:18:43 AM

Hi,

I am totally new to the media centers world, I read a lot on the net during the last weeks and I have now a general idea of the main specs and best brands around.

However, I came to the conclusion that in this moment there is nothing on the market that gives me the freedom of a PC, like choosing which channel you want to see outside the pre-packed ones or simply browse the Internet.

For this reason, I want to investigate the idea of a homebuilt HTPC.

I own a WD 'My Book' USB 3.0 HDD 2T that I'd like to include it this package.

I intend to start this project in January.

Background
I have a HD TV in my basement, I cancelled my cable TV subscription a few days ago and got rid of my setbox
I am on fiber for the Internet, 15/15 Mbps
I reside in Canada and I will use VPN to access US streaming.

Here is what I want to achieve
I prefer to use open and free software like Linux with XBMC and avoid spending for the MS licenses
I want to be able to access Netflix/Hulu but also view movies via Megavideo links.
Torrent download
I want to be able to watch soccer live, therefore access to live sports events is important to me.
I want to browse the Internet on my TV
Occasionally, I want to view content from my home network.
Probably an internal HDD is needed.

What I do not need
I do not want a BD Reader/writer

Can you help me to choose the right components to assemble?

I forgot.... I tend to like more Intel based systems rather than AMD.

Thanks guys

Cheers
Alex

More about : htpc max 500

December 23, 2011 4:18:16 PM

Hi,

I am aware there are already a number of configurations suggested on different threads, but since I prefer to not have a BD and Windows OS, I can probably invest more in a better MB or other stuff.

Also, not many people use Linux in combination with HTPC and I am wondering why, anything I am missing?

Thanks
Alex

Best solution