Sign in with
Your question

Installed new heatsink, now computer won't POST

Last response: in Systems
December 23, 2011 12:40:39 AM

Summary: I installed a new CPU heatsink today, and after installation, my computer no longer POSTs. LEDs come on, hard drive spins up, fans all work, but nothing on my monitor.

History: Computer worked fine before heatsink installation

Full story: I got a new Cooler Master TX3 CPU cooler today, and decided to install it, replacing the stock AMD cooler I had. Turned the computer off, removed the power cord from the PSU, did my best to discharge any static electricity, and removed the stock AMD cooler. Next, I removed the bulk of what was left of the thermal pad (from the stock cooler) with a credit card, being careful not to scrape any debris off the processor onto the motherboard. The residue I removed with isopropanol on a Q-tip. Then, I applied Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste to the heatsink, positioned the heatsink, and clamped it down (as per the instructions). I then plugged everything back in, turned the computer on, and alas, no POST. My hard drive spun up, my LEDs came on, all my fans spun up, but nothing came up on my monitor.
So, I unplugged everything again, pulled the heatsink off, wiped off all of the thermal paste, and saw a small amount had overflowed down the side of the processor, so I removed the processor, wiped the residue off with a Q-tip and IPA, and inspected the motherboard for signs of thermal paste, but saw none. However, I still wiped the area with a Q-tip in case there was some paste I couldn't see. So I reinserted the processor, reapplied thermal paste (using less this time), put the heatsink back in place, reconnected all of my power cords, and started my computer again. No POST.
I've tried removing all of my RAM except for one stick, removing the video card (using the onboard GPU, and punching my pillow, all to no avail. Also, the system speaker I have installed hasn't made a single beep

Specs: