Sign in with
Your question

Novice needs experienced gamers help

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 25, 2011 4:16:05 PM

I built my rig with the help of a friend, which i sort of regret. anyway. I run nvidia gts 250. It is overclocked, which I am not even sure I need to do. I have 4 gigs of RAM and when playing games it freezes up. Everything is about a year old, but it has never really run well. I am really new at all of this and need some help. My BIOS is set to things that I didn't have a say in, he just did it because it is all greek to me. I understand a little of it now but really need help. This sucks. Please help me out.
a b Î Nvidia
October 25, 2011 4:24:22 PM

Did you install all the latest drivers for your video card etc and updated windows. If so did you remove the old drivers with driversweeper ?
If you can tell more about your system it would be helpfull. Like your motherboard, processor, powersupply etc.
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
October 25, 2011 4:25:27 PM

Oh, and did you oc the card yourself or is it factory overclocked ?
m
l
Related resources
October 25, 2011 4:34:04 PM

overclocked it myself in BIOS. motherboard-770t-usb3
processor-amd athlon II x2 240 processor 2.8 gig
replaced the power supply that came with the case, which was given to me. can't remember what kind but bought the most expensive one i could.
Is the video card any good?
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
October 25, 2011 4:39:14 PM

It's old but not bad.
What did you overclock the video card or the processor ?
Anyway, when you set everything on stock settings, does it still crash ?
m
l
October 25, 2011 4:49:30 PM

how do i set them all back to stock settings? is there a single button i can push to take them back or do i have to do all of them manually? i wouldn't know what to put them on. I have dialed back the cpu freq trying to get it to act right, to no avail.
i don't really know if it is the cpu or the video card?
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
October 25, 2011 4:58:09 PM