mikes1992

Honorable
Mar 27, 2012
I was using MSI control center to experiment with an overclock I raised my bus speed from 100mhz to 103mhz and it instantly froze and the power light was flashing as if it was in standby mode, I switched the PSU off and unplugged the power as the power button was unresponsive... the power light carried on flashing for another 5 or so seconds. I plugged it back in and the power button no longer powers up the motherboard, I've tried clr cmos which didn't work.

This is my first build (2 months old, all parts new out of box) and I don't really feel confident in making a correct diagnosis and wanted to be sure I send the right part back for replacement, At the moment I highly suspect it's a problem with the motherboard though I could be wrong. I've also tested my PSU just to eliminate it as a problem and it powered on fine (I havn't tested if all outputs are getting a voltage).

Main problem

System will not power up (no activity after the power switch circuit is made on the motherboard)

System spec

MB: MSI P67A-C43 (B3)
CPU: I5 2400 @ 3.6ghz (100x36)
PSU: Corsair TX650
Ram: 8gb 4x2gb Corsair XMS 3 1600
GPU: EVGA GTS 450 SC @ Core 920/1840mhz GDDR5 2052mhz

Thank you

mikes1992

Honorable
Mar 27, 2012
I think the naming of this question is totally wrong for the kind of help i need XD, People will just assume "bent pins".

I really need a fast response because i'd really like to order a new motherboard or the part I may need. The only problems this could really be is the PSU or motherboard and since I have a direct link to the cause (E.g. me) I would of thought this would be an easy question to answer, I've been waiting 2 days... I decided to post it again.

Cause

OS based overclocking utility, Raised bus speed from 100 to 103
after doing so it instantly cut out and would not power back up

Symptoms