Apache + router + dns + websie + n00b

ok, I want, just for laughs, set up a webpage from my pc.

I did a little looking around and heard about apache and no-ip.com

Im a complete noob, and need someone to tell me what to do!

riser

Illustrious
dynamicdns.com also.. costs money though.

I can't host my own website from my computer because my stupid ISP blocks it.. they say I have to use their free web hosting.
I can't even have my own FTP server because they have that shutdown too.

jammydodger

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2001
Remember to use port forwarding on your router (if you have one). When you are testing the web site you will have to do it from a different net connection. I dont think you can access your own IP address over the internet (at least I couldnt).

Ahh - that would be why I couldn't seem to get it to work! I could FTP using my internal LAN ip, but not my WAN. Guess Ill ask someone I know to try. Thanks.

folken

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2002
If you have an old computer laying around that you dont use anymore just slap <A HREF="http://www.clarkconnect.org/webapp/downloads.jsp" target="_new">ClarkConnect</A> on it and you will have a webserv, ftp, email, webmail, and a butt load of other stuff ready to go in about 10min depending on the computer and your clicking speed :) It even has a easy webconfig that looks similar to most home routers (it could even be your home router). I'm using it on a via epia computer right now at my house for a router, webserv, email serv, etc and it works like a champ. The best part is you dont have to know jack about linux to use it and get the benifits of linux, lol.

<A HREF="http://www.folken.net/myrig.htm" target="_new">My precious...</A>

jammydodger

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2001
Just out of interest, does anyone know of any free DNS server software? Does windows 2000 server edition come with its own DNS server?
Why cant I set up active directory with windows 2kpro?

riser

Illustrious