$1000ish Gaming/general use first time build

Status
Not open for further replies.

tlrandal

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2011
Hello Everybody,

This is my first build, and my goal for this computer is for it to be capable of playing most new games (bf3, skyrim) at max settings at a resolution of 1900X1200 while being good for general use. I'll elaborate more on this below.

I've been researching parts for awhile, and read a fair amount of user reviews from newegg, etc and educational guides off this site, so I feel I have chosen a reasonable setup for my needs and I'm not completely clueless. However, I wouldn't mind some advice or suggestions. Thanks in advance for all of your input.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: Dec 26th- Jan 6th

Budget Range: $920-970 After rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, general office programs and workstation programs, surfing internet and watching movies

Parts Not Required: mouse, speakers, OS, monitor, RAM

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, amazon.com, tigerdirect.com, micro center

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, no preference for GPU, probably gigabyte or asus for mobos

Overclocking: Maybe but unlikely, if so, probably 10-15% OC

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1920 X 1200

Additional Comments: As mentioned above, if there was an ultimate goal for this build, it would be gaming, however, I would like it to perform workstation and general functions well. I am a kinesiology student and for biomechanics classes, I may need to run engineering-like software. Also, I dabble in graphic design, but it's not a priority. From what I've read of other users' builds, this shouldn't be a problem. However, I understand you can't have it all.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------