Apr 2, 2012
First off my specs are:

Case: Dell Studio XPS 7100
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 945t
RAM: 12GB DDR3
PSU: AcBel PC9004 460w
Motherboard: Dell 0NWWY0
Chipset: AMD 785G

I just picked up my new XFX Radeon 6770 and installed it as soon as I got home. As soon as I turned it on i noticed the resolution was much worse and there was a large border around the screen (I checked the resolution and it said it was on 1920x1080). After installing all the drivers I started a game and within 5 minutes my computer completely shuts off. It does this same thing everytime I play ANY game. I researched the problem and found that high temp is a common cause. I downloaded CoreTemp and it said I was at 46-48C while browsing with my Tj. max on 71C. I started the game in a window so I could see the CoreTemp window and the temp WENT NUTS and went up to 102C before my comp shut off.

Any help?

cofudi

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012

Im not experienced at all when it comes to reinstalling hardware. Do you know of a page with a good tutorial?

diellur

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
The first thing is that this is your PC protecting itself, as others have pointed out. If this is a pre-built Dell machine you may have glue on the insides of your system holding the heatsink onto the CPU (I've come across this before). Did you bump the heatsink when you installed your new GPU?

What was the GPU you had installed beforehand? And how long have you had the system? I'm wondering if it's something to do with the PSU although how it's affecting CPU temps I'm not entirely sure. Do you have your old GPU? A good test would be to reinstall it and see if the CPU has the same issues.

ngoy

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2009
I second the ps power problem. See this Dell forum page
and this toms page about power draw.