Your question

I Think i killed my PSU

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Sapphire
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 28, 2011 10:04:58 PM

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here (though i read here often).

I just bought a Sapphire Radeon HD 6850, the problem is i uninstalled my old graphics cards drivers, turned off my computer and put the new Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 in and the computer will not start up, the lights inside the towers casing still light up though, just nothing happens when i press the power button.

The graphics card recomends on the AMD site and on the sapphire box a 500 watt or great power supply , and i put in a Antec BP 550 watt ATX12V V2.3 a few days before this and it worked fine until i put in the new graphics card.

The computer wont start up (when i say wont start up, no fans, no beeps, no display, no bios, nothing) even if i put in the old graphics card it wont work either, the only way to get it running again, is having my old graphics card in he PCI E slot and putting in my older power supply which has a wattage of 360 (which i will not try with the new card, i know that wouldnt work out lol)

So at this point i pretty much know the new psu died somehow right? (even though there are lights on in the tower with it). Did i have enough power? should i have gotten a better power supply? And if so around what wattage should i get to prevent this terrible thing from happening again.

If i did not post enough information please let me know, i have searched around and i saw similar issues but not exactly this, saw issues with lower then recommended power supplies , and not a one that seems to reach the requirements like mine.

More about : killed psu

a b U Graphics card
October 28, 2011 10:34:59 PM

Hello and welcome
I think your components are ok. Please post your system full specs. And double check that everything is properly connected.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
October 28, 2011 10:38:39 PM