Sign in with
Your question

PC Monitor Shutting Down While Playing Games and/or

Last response: in Components
April 2, 2012 7:22:32 PM

Ok, so I made 3 upgrades to my computer recently. I wanted a new CPU and stronger GPU for gaming. I got the 6 core Thuban AMD CPU, and I got the Nvidia Geforce GTX 550 Ti. Also, b/c of the GPU, I also got a 500W power supply (this GPU requires minimum 400W) . I got everything installed by a technician. The first night, I played through 5 chapters of Super Meat Boy with no problem. But once I started playing Skyrim, the problems began. The first time, after maybe about 30 minutes, my monitor just shut off without warning, but my tower remained on. My new power supply has a switch, so I just flipped it, waited a moment, and rebooted. I tried running Kingdoms Of Amalur, and that was even worse. Once into the main game screen, it lasts I think less than 10 minutes before the monitor fails and shuts off. This happened every other time I tried to play Kingdoms of Amalur since (my PC was serviced Saturday morning, and I started trying out games Saturday night, 2 days ago). Surprisingly, last night when I tried running Skyrim, it actually lasted pretty long before the monitor shut down, considering Skyrim is such a demanding game, but I think it lasted about 30 minutes, just like the last time it failed. However, more concerning is that, I also tried Super Meat Boy again, and this time I played in window mode so I could maybe see what really happens. I could not even get halfway through Ch 1 before I got a brief blue screen which I didn't have enough time to read what it said.

Finally, I also do video encoding. Specifically, H.264 encoding. So, I have my program set to use the max number of cores. Twice, I encoded a short video (3-4 minutes), and both times, the monitor shut down almost immediately after the encoding was done, and the tower remained on. If I was doing a longer encode, the monitor would fail before it could even finish.