Should 6950 1gb be able to handle ULTRA on Battlefield 3 BF3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tacloban

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011
Hey Everyone, Noob Here...

Just built my computer about a month ago here is a rundown of what I've got going:

i5-2500k (water cooled with corsair h50) (got from Craigslist for $40 new :) )
asus p8p67
corsair vengeance 4gb (should I upgrade to 8?)
1tb samsung hdd (ive been considering getting an SSD)
Antec Neo Eco 620 Watt PSU
HAF 912 case

I want to overclock but every time I start reading about it, its really complicated and I give up. I always justify that its not that much extra performance (not noticable anyway) or that its not worth the stability issues.

Anyways, My reason for this post is that I can play battlefield 3 fine at 1920X1080 on HIGH settings, but when I use ULTRA, my computer struggles and its laggy/glitchy. I was under the impression that my radeon 6950 1gb and my given setup would be able to handle these ultra settings without problem?

Please let me know if my first impression was correct, or if I just built a computer not capable of these ultra settings.

Thanks,

Ben

Solution
As i stated above, my GPU was OCed to 890/1375. now it's OCed to 920/1400. With CPU @ 4.0 GHz. Yes OCing should give you a good boost. You should never drop lower than 40 FPS, i was ranging from 41 to 58 depending on the location.

gmkos

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2011
It sounds like your hardware is performing as expected, Tom's did a great review on BF3 performance, its worth taking a look at:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/battlefield-3-graphics-performance,3063.html

You may want to consider a 6950 Crossfire setup if you need better performance, although there are apparently some current issues with Crossfire in BF3 which you may want to wait for those to be resolved first.