Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First build

Last response: in Systems
December 27, 2011 7:47:48 PM

Hi,
I've been playing with computers since the Apple II plus. My primary interest is computer art, and currently interested on 3D graphics where I can incorporate decades of my 2D art. The primary program I'll be running is Blender, then Gimp and Inkscape. In addition to the challenge of the build I'm new to Linux (Mint).
The primary things I want in my first build is a stable system, speed (for 3D rendering), ease of build, and in the price range of $1400 to $1500.
I have tentatively identified some components that seem to fit the bill.

CASE: I have a Corsair Graphite 600T
CPU: i7 2600K ( I don't plan to do much overclocking but I do want Multithreading.)
MOTHERBOARD: Asus P8Z68-V
GRAPHICS CARD: NVIDIA Quadro 600 1GB (low watt)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM Dual Channel
POWER SUPPLY: Corair Professional Series 650- Watt 80 Plus
SSD:128GB drive but undecided about make and model, I do want ease of set up as the Boot drive and garbage collection in Linux.
HDD: I have a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 2 TB USB 3.0 and a couple of USB 2.0 Western Digital My Books 320 GB.
DVD DRIVE: Lite-On LightScribe IHAS424-98
KEYBOARD: I'm undecided, want it to work in a dark room.
MOUSE: I have.
MONITOR: I'm undecided, would it to be 24” or a little less, and work in variable lighting, in the $200 range.

More about : build

December 27, 2011 10:08:42 PM

If you don't intend to overclock the CPU then you could get the slightly cheaper i7-2600 and use a much cheaper H61/H67 motherboard.
December 27, 2011 10:38:54 PM

Good point about the overclock and I'm considering it if i run short of funds.

Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
December 28, 2011 12:47:13 AM

The money saved could get a better graphics card or a better SSD, every little bit helps.