SellingGames

venom4u

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2011
Not entirely sure this is where this should go but here goes anyway.

I have been programming on and off for about 8 years, starting with QBASIC in a high school. Currently my language of choice is Python as it really meets all my needs. For quite a long time now I have been wanting to develop a small game and sell it via online distribution. As programming is just a hobby of mine this would not be something high quality. More along the lines of a game that you would pay $2 to $5 for. But before I even start with this in mind i was wanting to know the legalities of this process in the US?

For instance, I was intending on using OpenGL to write a graphics engine as I am most familiar with it. Can I get away with this if I am selling the game or do I have to strike up a deal with the OpenGL people? Same goes with FMOD for a sound engine? What about the general selling of a game? Legally, do I have to form a company if I intend to do this? Can I simply sell the game via PayPal to get around any of this as I have heard some people do?

Also, are there any sites that deal with the website/payment/download process or will I have to set up my own server and website for the game(s)?

Not even sure if I will ever get a game out the door to be honest but I don't want to put hours of work into something like that and then find out :cry:

venom4u

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2011