Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Did I damage my CPU with improper thermal paste installation?

Last response: in CPUs
April 4, 2012 7:54:08 AM

I am an uber noob and I got my thumbprint on the thermal grease when I installed my CPU over a year ago. I recently learned that this was fatally stupid and I re-applied Arctic Silver 5, but unfortunately this was only a couple of weeks ago. I cleaned the old, dried up factory stuff and followed the instructions exactly, but could it have been too late? Might I have burned my CPU cores? My computer still works, but has stability issues often (freezes, requiring hard reboot). Is it possible there was permanent damage done to the cores?

CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 (645)
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
RAM: 4x2 GB DDR3
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6900
HDD: Seagate 2 TB
PSU: Corsair GS700w
April 4, 2012 8:09:11 AM

When did the freezing start?
April 4, 2012 8:14:12 AM

Pretty much with the new build, over a year ago. I started out with a faulty graphics card that I got used (I knew it was faulty because it caused artifacts on screen) so I assumed this was the cause of the freezing and just waited til I could afford a better one. Then I got the one I have now (original post), wich solved the artifacts but the freezing continued. This is why I wonder if the CPU could have been affected by my thumbrpint from the very beginning.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
April 4, 2012 8:14:32 AM

at any rate you need to upgrade
dl some monitoring software such as core temp to see where you stand.
April 4, 2012 8:17:17 AM

I have HWMonitor and my CPU core temps read as normal (22 C on idle and 37 C max during games or multitasking). This was true before applying the arctic silver 5.
a b à CPUs
April 4, 2012 8:18:06 AM

what is it after?
those temps before hand are perfectly fine what is the problem youre having.that is making you suspicious of your.cpu
April 4, 2012 8:19:26 AM

same actually
April 4, 2012 8:25:04 AM