Need help choosing MB

Ghost Ookami

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2013
Hey all, I'm preparing to upgrade 3 parts on my pc, CPU/Motherboard/RAM. And I'm doing my best to get parts that work well together, but this is becoming quite the issue. This will be my first pc build, though I'm no stranger to swapping out hardware, I've just never done it in such large scale.

I know for sure I will be getting this CPU - AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113284

And for quite some time I was planning on getting this MB: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

But heres where I run into problems, I'm not an expert in MB's, so choosing one is becoming quite a challenge, this MB seemed to be the perfect fit for me, high ratings, rated #1 by customers, seems great right? Well while reading some of the feedback I see quite a few people having issues with the AMD3+ FX8350 (the exact cpu i plan on getting). They say it throttles the speed from 4.0 down to about 3.4-3.6, So that worries me, GIGABYTE aparently has no way of fixing it either according to reviews. I would hate to buy a nice shiny new CPU only to not be able to use it to its full power (even though it would be massively better than my 2.66ghz duo core im currently using).