[HELP] First Build - $1400 Gaming/Development PC

SwDl

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2011
Hi everyone!

I'm looking to build a PC for development and gaming. This is my first build, so there are some areas I don't feel comfortable in. After reading some intros, tutorials, and guides, I feel like I have an okay grasp, but I would like the advice of others. I saw this:

A somewhat common worst-case scenario for first-time builders is to spend hundreds of dollars in parts, only to find that some won’t fit together. Less common is when parts that fit together don't work together. But the most frequent problem new builders face is an inappropriate component selection that limits the performance of their high-priced build, making it feel like a less-expensive machine. We'll try to help you avoid that awkward moment, when you realize this board won't fit into that enclosure.

and these are the exact problems I'm trying to avoid. I would really appreciate it if you guys could let me know if my parts do/don't fit together, work together, and don't limit each other. Also, if there are any suggestions about switch parts to save money without jeopardizing performance, those will be listened to as well.

Approximate Purchase Date:
Within two weeks

Budget Range:
$1200-$1400 after rebates (If I'm spending way too much, please let me know. I know you can't really future proof and parts become outdated fast, but I do want something that will last)

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
Gaming, Development, Movies, Web browsing

Parts Not Required:
Operating System - I already have Windows 7 Professional x64

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
www.newegg.com

United States

Parts Preferences:
No preferences, but I tend to lean toward well known companies.

Overclocking:
No

SLI or Crossfire:
Possibly SLI, but definitely not right away

Monitor Resolution:
1600x900

Additional Comments:
Obviously a quiet PC is preferred. My main focus is that the machine lasts a few years.

Parts: